Mustill Store57 W North St.
Akron, OH 44304
330-374-5625 | http://cascadelocks.org
Commerce on the Canal
Joseph and Sarah Mustill provided groceries and other supplies to people working on the Ohio And Erie Canal as well as to farmers, craftsmen and others from the surrounding area.
While the exact age of the Mustill Store is unknown, estimates put the date of construction around 1847. Built near the busy Lock 15 on the Ohio and Erie Canal, the original owners of the building were Joseph and Sarah Mustill, who sold and bartered groceries and other supplies to people working on the canal as well as to farmers, craftsmen and others from the surrounding area. Due to the traffic generated by the canal, which peaked at 75 boats per day stopping at Lock 15, the grocery business was quite successful for many years, supporting three generations of the Mustill family until the late 1880s. Adjacent to the store is the Mustill House, designed in the Greek Revival style. Both buildings have been restored to canal era condition.
The Mustill Store functions as both a museum dedicated to Akron's canal era history and as the visitor's center for the Cascades Lock Park. Visitors can learn about life along the canalway, the early history of Akron and get information about the surrounding Cascades Lock Park.
Notes for Travelers
The Mustill Store is free, handicap accessible, and perfect for all ages. Store hours vary depending on the season.